wonderfully roasted beets

DSCN2486

Beets are in season so I looked for some at the grocery store.  Veggies are so pretty regardless of whether you think they taste good.  I’ve never seen golden beets before so thought it would be fun to try.  This gets me excited for when the farmer’s market comes back in April.

DSCN2488

Directions

Roasted beets are simple. Just wash them well, cut off the tops, wrap them in foil, and bake at 275 degrees until they  are cooked through.  You should be able to pierce them with a knife easily.  My beets were fairly small so I roasted them for 45min. Let the beets cool before you peel the skin off.

DSCN2497

Be careful as the red beets give off a deep red liquid.  It’s kinda like food coloring which give me an idea to use them as coloring for a cake.

Please save the green tops!  If you saute them in olive oil and season with salt and pepper they’re really good.

DSCN2499

roasted beet salad with goat cheese

I left the beets plain here but i’ve soaked them in balsamic vinegar before and they’re good.  I normally add pecans and Trader Joe’s raspberry vinaigrette.

DSCN2575

Leave a Reply

