baking vs. blogging

Fellow bloggers, have you felt like you just don’t want to take a photo of everything you bake/cook/eat?  I feel like I hit a ‘blog wall’ around September 2013 and had no desire to blog for a while.  I was moving to a new home…life happens…I took some time to just cook for myself. Below are some random photos of me and my adventures with food.

I made two pies for Thanksgiving one pumpkin and apple both from scratch. I also made Pioneer Woman’s Parker House Rolls. I ‘ve made these rolls for Thanksgiving for three years in a row and they never fail to disappoint.  Below is a photo of my kitchen on Thanksgiving day.  For me, this is what ‘me time’ looks like. IMG_1967

IMG_1974

I feel like during the fall and winter months it’s harder to blog because of the lack of sun light.  Here in the northwest it is dark when I wake up and when I come home from work right now. I’ve learned that photos look better in natural light but what are you supposed to do when you don’t have that? I suppose I can blog on the weekends but I would have to plan my time in the kitchen during the middle of the day every weekend so I decided not to. Above is a photo of me making gnocchi with my husband.  It was a fun project but took forever.  I have to admit it wasn’t amazing gnocchi (because I was taking shortcuts and loosely following the recipe) but it was nice to spend time with each other.  Here is the gnocchi recipe I used. We liked them best pan fried in some butter to crisp them up and with prosciutto that we crisped up in the oven.

IMG_2286

What I’m trying to say is that I started this blog because I love food but food is only good when you have people to share it with.  With that being said, the past few months I’ve chosen to just bake/cook/eat with people I love instead of trying to blog everything I make. There is nothing wrong with blogging everything I make I just chose not to because it almost felt like a chore…which is never a good thing.  Above is a photo of my oldest sister teaching me how to make live yeast.  Pretty cool right?  The cookbook she’s looking at is Tartine Bread.

IMG_2260

This past holiday I spend time with my family and made a gingerbread house.  I saw the sprinkles all mixed in together and thought this was the cutest photo. It’s very childlike in a fun colorful way.

IMG_1739

Something about the northwest is that they don’t have a fast food restaurant called Chick fil A.  When  I go back home I love to go to Chick fil A and order their  chocolate chip oatmeal cookies.  I am not one to order a cookie from a fast food restaurant but these cookies are quality.  I loved them so much I tried to recreate them in my own kitchen.  Above is a photo of what I came up with.  The ones I made were pretty dang good but I’m still working on the recipe.  When I figure it out I’ll be sure to share it.  The copy cat recipe I started with is this one.  I love this cookie because it uses milk and bittersweet chocolate chips.

So I haven’t blogged for a while by choice but I still love baking/cooking/eating even when I don’t. I’m still trying to figure out what blogging will looking like for me moving forward but I know that I love baking and blogging but sometimes you just need a break from one or both.

4 thoughts on “baking vs. blogging

  1. I love oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. We should make some together.

    I haven’t posted on my blog in weeks either. I want it to be for fun so if I ever feel myself stressed to finish something just to put it on my blog, I know I’m doing it wrong. That being said, sometimes forcing myself to try new things to share has inspired some really great projects. It’s tough, isn’t it? I like you no matter how much you blog 🙂

    • yes, we should bake these cookies together! Maybe we can bake some this weekend? Let me know what you think. Thanks for the encouragement. I feel like trying new things and balance are all key to enjoying blogging. I think I actually like blogging about what I learn about food and tips/techniques over blogging actual recipes. I’ll have to keep this in mind.

  2. Well, I hit a blogging wall two or three times a year so I can identify with what you are saying for sure. Your photos are lovely and I’ve got gnocchi on my list of things to make for January! Are you from the South? We’ve got many a Chic-fil-A here in North Carolina!

    Best wishes for a happy, healthy new year!
    Allison

    • Glad to hear I’m not alone :). Thanks for the compliment. I still struggle to get good photos with no sun light! I guess this is an opportunity to explore other ways. I am originally from Texas and there was a Chic fil A pretty much any where I went.

Leave a Reply

