graham crackers w/ gluten free flour

IMG_2465

I’m not gluten free but I was having people over for s’mores and needed a gluten free option.  I was at the store browsing the gluten free aisle trying to find grahams that were gluten free and found a 5lb bag of gluten free flour.  I’ve always wanted to try gluten free flour but it’s expensive.  If you notice the price below, I got this $16.99 bag of flour for $4.99.  I’m not sure why it was marked down so low.  The expiration date is August 2014 and there wasn’t anything wrong with the bag so I bought it.

IMG_2469

Have you every used gluten free flour?  If so, how did it go?  I’d like to know.

The dough is pretty simple to put together using a food processor. If you don’t have that you can use a stand mixer.  The interesting part about the recipe is that it requires the butter to be frozen.  When you mix the dry ingredients with the frozen butter until it resembles a course like texture like wet sand (much like you would do with pie crust or biscuits).

I love how cute they are.  I’d make anything that requires me to use my fluted pastry wheel just to get that zig zag edge.

IMG_2463

I have to say I made this recipe by default because I couldn’t find any gluten free graham crackers but I am glad I did.  Homemade graham crackers are amazing!  These tasted more like teddy grahams. They were dense and stiffer than a store bought graham cracker.  I made a s’more with a marshmallow and dark chocolate caramel in between.  It was delicious I recommend it.  A s’more party is actually a fun idea since you can choose different types of chocolate to put inside.  I bought milk chocolate, dark chocolate with sea salt, Reese’s peanut butter cups, and dark chocolate caramels.  You could even make your own homemade marshmallows.

Graham crackers w/ gluten free flour

adapted recipe from smitten kitchen

Ingredients

makes approximately 40 2.5 x 2.5 inch crackers

2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons gluten free flour

1 cup dark brown sugar, lightly packed

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

7 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen and cut into 1/2 inch cubes

1/3 cup honey

5 tablespoons milk

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

3 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Please note I basically used the same recipe but switched the all purpose flour with gluten free.  I didn’t know if this was going to work with gluten free flour but I just took the chance and it worked.

In a food processor combine flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.  Pulse to combine.  Add frozen butter and pulse until it looks like course sand much like biscuits or pie dough requires.

In another bowl mix  honey, milk, and vanilla extract.  Add liquid ingredients to the flour mixture in the food processor.  Pulse until it just combines into a dough.

Turn dough out (take dough out of food processor) onto a lightly floured piece of plastic wrap.  Form into a 1 inch think  rectangle to make it easier to work with later.  Wrap with plastic wrap and refrigerate dough until chilled.  I actually chilled mine in the freezer for 20 minutes then transferred it to the refrigerator for 30 minutes.  Combine sugar and cinnamon as a topping to sprinkle on the crackers later.

Preheat oven to 350 degree F. You will be using two oven racks.

Once dough is chilled, take dough out and cut in half.  Place half of dough into refrigerator to chill.  Take the other half and place onto floured work surface.  Roll out dough into a rectangle with 1/8 inch thickness. Don’t try to make them any thicker since these are a denser then the store bought crackers.  Next, cut into into desired length.  I used a fluted pastry wheel for a decorative edge. My crackers were about 2.5 x 2.5 inches.  I eyeballed it because I like when things aren’t perfect.

Place crackers onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Use a toothpick to prick 9 holes on the top as decoration. Next, sprinkle crackers with sugar and cinnamon topping. Repeat with other half of dough. Take scraps and roll out, cut, and place on baking sheets.

Place both trays of crackers in the freezer and let it chill for 20 minutes or until firm.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a deep brown but not burnt.  They should be firm coming out of the oven. Rotate the trays (rotate the tray 180 degrees so the front is now the back) so that the crackers cook evenly.  Once the top tray was done, I took it out to cool on a rack.  I notice the crackers on the bottom rack was a little pale so I moved them to the top rack and baked them for a couple more minutes until they were a deep brown.

Right out of the oven they will be firm but a little soft.  The crackers will harden as they cool.

Store in an air tight container for storage.  They are good with ice cream.

Leave a Reply

