a guide to pie crust: fruit pie tips

fruit pie tips

Pie takes a lot of a patience, knowledge and experience to be really good. I’ve made several pies this summer but I haven’t posted most of the recipes. I feel like I haven’t  ‘perfected’ the recipes so I’m waiting to see what works best.  Even though I don’t have a lot of pie recipes to share I’ll tell you what I’ve learned so far.

  • In a sauce pan over medium heat, reduce (boil in order to thicken) liquid that is released from fruit.  For fruit that you must cut (apples, peaches, strawberries) they will release about 1 cup of liquid after you cut and mix with sugar and spices for the filling. Reducing the liquid first and then reincorporating it back into the filling will help the crust not get soggy while baking.
  • Bake on top of a baking sheet to catch any liquid that bubbles over.  Trust me you want to do this to save a messy clean up.
  • Bake on top of a baking stone that has been preheating in the oven for at least 20 min. The baking stone allows the bottom crust to cook quicker and prevent a soggy bottom crust.  I have baked a pie on top of a baking sheet on top of a baking stone J.
  • Use a lattice crust for berry pies or make the opening at the top large enough to release steam and liquid that bubbles over.  I baked a strawberry pie and did not cut big enough slits.  Liquid was continually pouring out of the side of the pie while it baked.
  • Add 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to the filling.  The cornstarch will help thicken the filling as it cooks.  I’ve used flour to help thicken the filling but it didn’t work for me.
  • Use almond extract sparingly in the filling.  Some fruit pie recipes call for almond extract.  I love almond as a flavor but I feel it’s overpowering.  I’d rather taste the fruit! But if you want the flavor of fruit + almond use as much as you like!
  • Use salt in your crust.  Some recipes call for salt or sugar or both.  I think salt in an all butter crust helps the sweetness of the fruit stand out.  I like a savory crust to balances out the fruit.
2 thoughts on “a guide to pie crust: fruit pie tips

Leave a Reply

