tip to ripen fruit

IMG_1426

Have you ever wanted to make a something that required ripe fruit but the fruit you just bought is rock hard? Well, to help fruit ripen faster, place the fruit in a brown paper bag and close it loosely.  They should ripen in a couple days.

As fruit ripens it gives off a gas.  When contained that gas will help ripen other fruit which explains the saying ‘one bad apple spoils the bunch.’  To accelerate the ripen process even faster, place a piece of ripe fruit in with the unripe fruit.  I did this with peaches.  I had a couple peaches that were overripe…like on the border of not being edible.  I placed them in the paper bag with hard peaches that I just bought.  The very next day the hard peaches became very ripe.  I’m talking perfectly soft yet firm where I could bite into it with no problem.  I was actually surprised this worked so well.  You don’t have to use an overripe peach to help ripen other peaches.  You could use a ripe banana, tomato or any other fruit.

I hope this helps.

One thought on “tip to ripen fruit

Leave a Reply

