peach hand pies

IMG_1410

I made a blueberry pie last week and it was amazing.  I saved the scraps of the pie crust and decided to make peach hand pies since I had an overripe peach that needed to be used.

IMG_1325

To start you’ll need your pie crust scraps and a peach pealed and sliced.

IMG_1330

I rolled out my crust and then went looking around in my kitchen for something that I could use as a circle stencil.  I ended up using a bowl to measure out two circles. You can make the pies as small or as big as you want.  Next time I might try making them smaller like a ‘two-bite’ pie.

IMG_1335

In the peach mix is 1 tablespoon of sugar and 2 tsp of cornstarch. Fill free to add a squeeze of lemon juice or a few drops of almond extract.  Gently combine and you’re ready to fill your peach pie.

IMG_1339

Arrange the peach slices on one side of the crust.  Peach is such a gorgeous color.

IMG_1352

Fold and press the ends together to seal.  I used a fork to mark the edges and put them in the refrigerator for about 30 min before baking.  Then I placed them directly on the baking stone.  I lined the baking stone with parchment paper to catch any liquid that escaped.

IMG_1406

Yummy!  Peach hand pies!!!

My favorite part of about them is that you get double the buttery crust :).

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Peach hand pies

makes 2 pie

This is kind of a recipe.  It’s intended to be more of an idea to use up pie crust scraps and overripe fruit :).

Ingredients

1 peach, skinned and sliced

1 tbsp sugar

2 tsp cornstarch

scraps of pie crust dough

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F for 20 min before baking.  I also placed a baking stone on the bottom rack to bake the pies directly on the stone.

In a small bowl,combine peach slices, sugar and cornstarch.

Roll out pie crust dough to about 1/8 thick. Cut out circles to your desired size.

Arrange peach slices on half of one side of the pie crust.  Make sure to leave enough room on the edges in order to seal the pie.  Fold each pie in half and press edges together to seal.  Crimp the edges with a fork if desired.  Refrigerate pies for about 30 min before baking.

Place a pie of parchment paper on the baking stone. Place pies directly onto the lined baking stone.  Bake until pie crust is golden brown.  Baking times will vary on the size of your pies.  My pies were about 6 in long and took 35 min.  Some liquid may escape.

Let pies cool for at least 1 hr before enjoying.

3 thoughts on “peach hand pies

Leave a Reply

