blueberry pie

IMG_1283

Check out my latest creation…blueberry pie!  I went blueberry picking and wanted to make a pie.

IMG_1203

I have to say that I felt so accomplished since I picked the blueberries myself and made a pie from scratch.  It doesn’t get any better than that does it?

IMG_1205

I made two  pie crusts the night before.  I feel like this makes pie making so much easier than trying to do everything is one day.  It really does save time. I recommend it.

IMG_1216

Above is the bottom crust.  After forming the bottom crust in the pie dish I refrigerated it for about 30 min. Meanwhile I made the filling and started the top crust.  I saved the scraps for a special treat for later.

IMG_1240

The filling was just a matter of mixing everything together.  That was easy as pie right….get it? Easy as pie….okay I’m done.

IMG_1244

Above is the blueberry goodness.  It’s ready for it’s gorgeous lattice crust. I already had the strips for the lattice crust ready to make it easier to assemble.  Click the link above for a tutorial on how to make a lattice crust.

IMG_1271

After the top crust was finished and it was refrigerated for 30 min.  I brushed the top with an egg wash (one beaten egg and a splash of heavy cream).

IMG_1306

Gah!  It took four hours for this pie to cool.  I couldn’t wait to taste it but I’m glad I did.  It was good.  The only thing was that it was a a little watery/juicy.  The crust was flaky on the bottom and top but after a couple days it did soften probably because of the amount of liquid.  Next time I’m going to use a couple tablespoons of cornstarch in the filling to see if it helps thicken it.  I found the lattice crust was super flaky. I think the lattice crust is even more flaky than a regular top crust.  I  might start using the lattice crust more often.

The blueberry filling was great.  I loved the kick of the lemon zest.  So I’m going to be honest and tell you that this was probably the best pie I’ve ever made.  I will also tell you that I’ve probably only made ten pies in my life…hah…so that’s not saying much.  I guess if my homemade pies taste this good now they’re bound to only get better with time and practice.

I had a lot of fun making this pie and I hope you do too.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Blueberry pie

Pie crust

adapted from Allrecipes 

4 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons salt

2 cups butter cubed

3/4-1 cups cold water

In a large bowl combine flour and salt.  Next add butter.  Using a fork cut the butter into the flour until you have pea sized pieces.  When the mixture feels like wet sand you can start to add the water.  Add the water a 1/2 cup at a time.  Use the fork the incorporate the water.  Then add another 1/2 cup water and incorporate.  Repeat this until the dough becomes shaggy and clumpy.   Once the dough gets to this point you should be able to form the dough into a ball.  The dough should not be dry or be crumbly.  It needs more water if it does not come together. Cut the ball into two pieces.  Form each piece into a disc and wrap in plastic wrap for at least one hour before use or over night. Please note you do not need to use all of the water.  You need enough water for the dough to come together.

When ready to use let the dough sit at room temperature for 10 min to make it easier to roll out.  On a clean and floured work surface, roll out the dough to a 12 in diameter and 1/8 in thickness. Place the dough into the bottom of the pie crust.  Do not stretch the dough.  Cut off the edges and refrigerate for 30 min before you fill it.

Blueberry pie filling

recipe from Simple Recipe

6 cups blueberries

1/2 tsp lemon zest

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 cup flour (thickener)

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

In a large bowl mix together blueberries, lemon zest, lemon juice, flour, sugar and cinnamon until combined. Pour filling into the chilled bottom crust.  Dot with butter (I forgot to do this step but it came out fine).  Roll out top crust and arrange as desired.  Be sure to cut  a hole or slit to allow the juices and steam to escape.  Refrigerate pie for 30 min before baking. Brush with egg wash (one beaten egg with a splash of milk/cream) if desired.

Place pie on cookie sheet (to catch and juices that may overflow) and place pie in oven to bake. For best result bake pie on a baking stone (I baked my pie on a baking sheet on top of a baking stone).  Bake for 20 minutes at 425 degrees F. Reduce heat to 350 degrees F and bake for 30 to 40 minutes more or until juices are bubbling and have thickened. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Let cool completely before serving.

2 thoughts on “blueberry pie

  1. That is beautiful Kim! We were doing some traveling last week and past a u-pick blueberry and I thought of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

