a guide to pie crust: how to make a lattice crust

IMG_1280

Oh lattice crust…are you really as complicated as you look?  Yes and no. Yes, because you have to work quickly and in order to do so you need to know what you are doing.  No, if you know what you are doing :).  This was actually the first time I’ve attempted this design. These are the steps I took.

IMG_1223

1.  Roll out your pie crust dough as normal.  I made the middle longer so I could have long and short strips.

IMG_1232

2.  I used a clean ruler to score each strip (left).  Next, I used a fluted pastry wheel to cut the pieces (right). Because the dough became soft, I put it in the refrigerator for about 30 min until it firm up again before I arranged the top crust.

IMG_1246

3.  When you are ready for the top crust, arrange the desired amount of strips vertically.  This is to get an idea of how many strips will fit.  I used 7 strips to start.

IMG_1248

4.  Now set aside every other piece.  Since I used 7 pieces. I set aside the 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th piece.

IMG_1250

5.  Now lay a horizontal strip on top of the remaining vertical strips in the center of the pie.

IMG_1251

6.  Place the 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th strips back on top of the horizontal strip.  The horizontal strip is now ‘weaved’ through the vertical strips.

IMG_1252

7.  Next, fold the 2nd, 4th and 6th vertical strips up.

IMG_1253

8.  Then lay another horizontal strip below the center horizontal strip.

IMG_1254

9.  Then fold the 2nd, 4th and 6th vertical strip down.

IMG_1257

10.  Now you fold up the 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th strips. Then you would lay a horizontal strip again and fold down the 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th strips.

IMG_1259

11.  Repeat the process until you finish the bottom side.

IMG_1261

12.  Complete the same process with the top. Notice the left side?  It looks like I can fit another strip there.

IMG_1262

13.  If you need to add, simply fold up the strips (should be every other one) and add another strip (should be perpendicular to folded strips).

IMG_1264

14.  To finish, tear off the long ends of each strip and tuck them under the bottom crust. I refrigerated the pie for 30 min before baking.

IMG_1268

Ta da!!!! Look at that fancy lattice crust.

Notes:

  • You don’t have to use the fluted pastry wheel.  The crust would look great with straight strips.
  • The closer you place the strips together the ‘tighter’ the ‘weave’ will be.  If baking a berry pie I suggest leaving some space like I did above.  You want the juices and steam to release.
  • Instead of just tucking the strips under the bottom crust, try a fancier pie crust edge.  I’ll have to show this is in another blog post.

I hope this helps!

4 thoughts on “a guide to pie crust: how to make a lattice crust

Leave a Reply

