fresh strawberry soda w/ strawberry ice cubes

IMG_1098

Hi friends, another fizzy drink for you.  Remember those strawberries I picked a few weeks ago? Well, they were so good I had to go back to the u-pick farm and pick more.  However, I made the mistake of going in the afternoon instead of the morning and they were basically picked out!  I did manage to get a couple pounds.  As much as I love fresh strawberries I couldn’t eat them all but didn’t want to throw them away so I decided to blend them up and pour them into ice cube trays to make strawberry ice cubes. These ice cubes are more like mini popsicles.

IMG_1081

These are what the ice cubes look straight out of the freezer.  They’re so red and pretty.

IMG_1087

IMG_1099

I only used three ingredients for this drink: strawberry ice cubes, lemon and soda water.  I didn’t add sugar for my drink but I used sugar for my husband’s drink.  He said this was the best drink I’ve ever made him.  The key to this drink is the amazing quality of the strawberries.  The ice cubes are simply blended strawberries and it contains no added water.

IMG_1101

If I wouldn’t have froze my strawberries they would have spoiled so I was able to save my fruit.  Also, by freezing them and using them as ice cubes I can still get that fresh flavor.

I also had the idea of freezing chunks of strawberries or other  whole berries into actual ice cubes to make fancy ice cubes.  You could add them to lemonade or to flavor water.  It’s an easy way to make your drink look fancy and all you have to do is make ice cubes :). Try it and tell me how it goes.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Fresh Strawberry Soda

Ingredients

strawberry ice cubes (blend strawberries, pour into ice cube molds, place in freezer until completely frozen)

soda water

lemon

sugar (if desired)

Directions

In a glass, combine all ingredients to taste.  It’s really that simple.

Tip: To make it easier for the sugar to dissolve you could make a simple syrup. To do this, combine equal parts of sugar and water in a medium sauce pan. Dissolve over medium heat until all sugar crystals are gone.  Let syrup cool and refrigerate until ready to use.

One thought on “fresh strawberry soda w/ strawberry ice cubes

Leave a Reply

