nojito (non alcoholic mojito)

IMG_1077

I haven’t been in the mood to bake.  For me those urges come and go. As the weather here actually starts to feel like summer the only things that have excited me are refreshing drinks and berries so you’ll probably see a lot of those things in future posts.

IMG_1056

I want you to know something about me. Lime is one of my favorite flavors.  I REALLY like lime.  I learned to squeeze it on papaya, salad dressing, tacos, corn and even potato chips when I was in Mexico several years ago.  When I came back from Mexico after two months I attempted to share my enthusiasm for lime with my sisters but they just laughed at me.  That’s okay more lime for me.

IMG_1068

IMG_1072

Lime  really does go well with lots of flavors. Today, lime + mint + soda water = nojito (non-alcoholic mojito).  I ❤ this drink.  It’s makes me feel all fancy when I drink it and it’s amazingly refreshing.

IMG_1074

I feel like ‘fancy’ drinks make dinner special.  You could even invite a couple friends over on the fly, order take out , whip up some nojitos and it would be awesome.  Drinks are much easier to make than dinner :).

IMG_1076

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Nojito (non-alcoholic mojito)

recipe from musing from a house wife

Mint simple syrup

make about 1 1/2 cups

1 cup water

1 cups sugar

1 handful of mint leaves

In a medium saucepan, combine water and sugar and dissolve over medium heat for about one minutes until sugar is dissolved.  Take off heat and add mint leaves.  Leave it for about an hour to steep (also known as letting the mint just hangout in the water to release its flavor).  I only steeped mine for about 45 min because I was tired of waiting.  Remove leaves from syrup, pour syrup into container and store in refrigerator until ready to use.

Nojito

makes 1 drink

1 handful of mint leaves

about 1 oz of mint simple syrup

half a lime

crushed ice

club soda

Warning, I did not include exact measurements because I think you should add the amount of ingredients you like to your taste.

In a glass, add the mint simple syrup and mint.  Next, muddle the ingredients together (also known as crushing or bruising the leaves to release more flavor).  I used the end of a wooden spoon to muddle the mint.  Next, squeeze the lime into the glass and add the crushed ice.  To finish, pour in the desired about of club soda.  Mix it all together and drink up!

One thought on “nojito (non alcoholic mojito)

  1. This looks like just what I need on these hot summer days… I understand that during this hot weather nobody wants to stand in front of an oven. Enjoy your cooking/baking break!

Leave a Reply

