cupcake icing tips

IMG_0649

This was my first time using an actual pastry bag and fancy tip to ice cupcakes.  I was impressed with how easy it was to make cupcakes look beautiful so I wanted to share what I learned so you can have fancy cupcakes too!

  • Keep the overall design simple.  I used a white cupcake liner and blue frosting with sprinkles.
  • Measure the amount of cupcake batter for uniform cupcakes. I used a 1/3 cup to make sure my cupcakes would be as uniform as possible.  I’ve seen professionals use an ice cream scoop.
  • Pick the design you want here and read up on cupcake basics.  This website provides a great tutorial and shows the different tips and what design they produce.
  • Pick the color icing you want here. There are several shades you can make using the regular red, yellow, blue, green food coloring you can buy at the store.
  • Supplies you need: pastry bagicing tip (I used a 1m open star), coupler (to hold tip in place).  I bought all of this at a craft store for around 8 bucks.

That’s about it!  I hope this helps.

2 thoughts on “cupcake icing tips

Leave a Reply

