coconut whipped cream

IMG_0668

Simple things make me happy.  Whipped cream makes me happy…it really does.  So when I found that I can make coconut whipped cream out of a can of coconut cream and some sugar I was excited to share this with you.

IMG_0651

Normally I buy coconut cream from an asian store so I was excited to see that Trader Joe’s carried it.  I won’t have to make a separate trip just for coconut cream.  Please know that coconut cream is not the same as coconut milk, although, you could use coconut milk for this recipe.  This recipes requires TWO ingredients…I told you it was simple.

IMG_0654

Here is what coconut cream looks like.  It’s dense but once you whip it it will get fluffy.  You can use this as an alternative to a whipped dairy topping.

IMG_0656

Fluffy white. I can see it now…I will be using use this as the whipped toping for a coconut cream pie. It’s going to be amazing.

IMG_0658

Dip some strawberries and you have dessert.  I really do think this would be an awesome dessert for guests.  I kind of want to invite people over just to feed them coconut whipped cream and strawberries.  I don’t think anybody will complain :).

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Coconut whipped cream

recipe slightly adapted from Oh She Glows

makes about 2 cups

Ingredients

1 14oz can of coconut cream

2 tablespoon of sugar

Directions

The day before you make the whipped cream place the can of coconut cream in the refrigerator.  The key is to make sure it is very cold.  You could probably put the can in the refrigerator the morning of for it to be ready  for dinner.

When ready to make the whipped cream, turn the can upside down and drain the liquid at the top.

Spoon out the cream into a mixing bowl, add sugar, and whip until thoroughly combined and fluffy.  I don’t like my whipped cream super sweet so be sure to taste it and add sugar to your taste.

Keep in a sealed container and refrigerated until ready to use.

2 thoughts on “coconut whipped cream

Leave a Reply

