juice ice cubes

IMG_0511

I didn’t intentionally buy myself a juicer.  In fact, I wasn’t really aware of juicing when I bought it.  So long story short I bought my sister a juicer because she wanted to be healthier.  Because we don’t live in the same state, I had to ship it.  I didn’t tell her in an effort to surprise her but  she ended up buying one before mine got there…hah.  So instead of returning it I just kept and I’m glad a did.

I don’t use my juicer as much as I should but as the season warms up there are more veggies and fruits to motivate me to use it.

IMG_0504

I got the idea to juice when I was taking a long walk on my day off.  After my walk I dropped by the store to pick up some lovely produce.  I’ve only juiced carrots and oranges so the strawberries, beets, and kale were all new to me.

IMG_0520

2 beets, 1 bunch of kale, 1 orange, 2 carrots, 1 carton of strawberries

IMG_0523

Flavor combinations: carrot and orange.  This is probably my favorite juice.  I really like the sweetness of the carrots with the orange juice.  There is a drink at Jamba Juice that’s calledd ‘orange carrot karma’ and it’s my favorite but it’s hard to justify paying that much for drink.

IMG_0530

Flavor combinations: beet, strawberry, kale and a squeeze of lemon.  It was pretty good.  The beets were surprisingly sweet.  The kale was good but I would rather eat my kale than drink it…it just makes more sense to me.

IMG_0542

If you have ever juiced you know that it takes time to clean the produce, chop, juice and clean everything up.  It’s obviously best to drink the juice right after it’s made but I wanted to try freezing the juice into ice cubes.  I had the idea to add some juice cubes to my water in the mornings.  I liked it.  Beware the beet juice is a crazy bright fuchsia color that stains everything.

IMG_0513

I have this crazy idea to have a juicing party.  I would invite people over and everyone could bring a fruit or veggie that they would want to juice…kind of  like a homemade juice bar.  What do you think?  Would you come to my juicing party?

No recipe for you today because it’s juice :).  Drink up!

7 thoughts on “juice ice cubes

  1. Gorgeous. My husband has been annoying me for a juicer. But I know for sure that he won’t use it. When it comes to kitchen stuff, he’s pretty hands off. I guess it’s his way of saying he wants me to make him juice.

  2. p.s. What brand/model do you have and would you recommend it? I’ve heard they can be a nightmare to clean and if you don’t clean it right away, you can just about forget about it. I can’t see myself being too fussy about taking something apart and cleaning in the morning before work so something that is quick to clean is kinda important.

  3. I love these colours! I would totally come to a juice party. Such a nice idea. It’s such a shame that I don’t have a juicer. But in the end I would probably use it once an then never again because I would hate to clean it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

