veggie quesadilla

IMG_0589

I went to my local farmers market and had an awesome vegetable quesadilla with cheese from one of the vendors.  Grilled veggies in a quesadilla…what a simple yet tasty concept.  Because it is so simple, I decided that I wanted to create my own at home with produce I found at the market. What if I made quesadillas made only with seasonal ingredients? That would be cool.

IMG_0551

Roll call!  Beets, swiss chard, carrots, cabbage, broccoli, red onions and wild garlic.  Red onions are right underneath the broccoli and the wild garlic is above the beets.  Not everything pictured above is from the farmers market just the swiss chard, onions and garlic. Yummy veggies!

IMG_0558

Gorgeous swiss chard!  I had to take a photo and share it with you.

IMG_0561

So I’ve never cooked with wild garlic and was excited to see what it was like.  I took a photo so you can see what it looks like inside.  I bit into the bulb raw to see what I was working with and it kind of tastes like a cross between a regular garlic clove and a white onion.  It had a mild taste .  The stalk part which is light green is tough and fibrous so I ended up not using them.  I’ll have to research this veggie more.

IMG_0567

I’ll be honest with you.  I’ve been indulging in desserts (mainly ice cream) a lot and cooking veggies seem like just the think to balance me out.  I felt really good after chopping all of them up.  With all of these colors I know I’m getting lots of nutrition! This is obviously a lot so I plan to cook them all and save the rest in the fridge to incorporated into my lunches throughout the week. Please note that I also used the stem of the broccoli…why waste it?

IMG_0572

To add flavor, I used a mix of spices including: onion powder, salt, crushed red pepper, smoked paprika, chili powder, and oregano. The smoked paprika was strong in a good way.  It’s the tin pictured above.

IMG_0579

I cooked the veggies in two batches because my grill wasn’t big enough. Next time I won’t be as conservative with the spices and add a whole lot more. I made sure to cook the veggies that take longer first (beets, carrots, swiss chard stems). It’s helps to slice all the veggies with a similar thickness.  I should have cut the carrots thinner.

IMG_0585

Now it’s it time to assemble the quesadilla!  You can’t see it but there is sharp white cheddar cheese under all the veggies.  I bought this huge block of  white cheddar cheese and it seems to never end.  It’s good cheese but I’ve used it for a couple different recipes and snacks and half of it is still in my fridge.  It’s really not that big of a deal I just think it’s funny that this cheese seems to keep regenerating itself.  Anyways, while the cheese melted I warmed the chicken that was already cooked (I roasted a chicken during the week and had left overs). I know I titled this recipe ‘veggies quesadilla’ but I need some protein in every meal, otherwise, I get hungry.  Don’t worry the veggies are still the highlight of the meal.

IMG_0587

Does anybody else use their tea kettle to make quesadillas?  I do it ALL the time.  It’s the only tool that I have that has enough surface to press down on the tortillas and create even browning.

IMG_0593

Yummy!  I thought the sharp cheddar was good with the veggies.  Have fun eating your veggies!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Veggie (chicken) quesadilla

Ingredients (I’m not going to list a specific amount of veggies because I think you should just use how much you and whatever you want)

1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 cup chopped chicken

1 whole wheat tortilla

veggies:

beets, swiss chard, carrots, broccoli, cabbage, red onion, wild garlic

spice blend:

1 tsp salt

2 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 tbsp onion powder

1/2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp oregano

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

Directions

Cut beets and carrots to about 1/8 inch thickness.  Chop swiss chard stems, broccoli, cabbage, red onion into about 1/2 inch pieces.  Mince the garlic.  Rough chop the green tops of swiss chard to about 2 inches long. These are guidelines to help your veggies cook evenly and timely.

Preheat your pan to medium high heat.  Meanwhile in a small bowl, combine spices to create the spice blend.

Cook veggies in batches if you don’t have enough room to cook them all at once.  I did two batches and suggest cooking the harder veggies (beets, carrots, chad stems, broccoli) first ensure they are cooked through.  Once the harder veggies have been cooking a few min. add more veggies and sprinkled the desired amount of spice blend.  Add the green chard tops, onions and garlic last.

Once veggies are cooks, clear pan. Place tortilla in the pan and sprinkle half of the cheese on half of the tortilla.  Once the cheese is melted add the desired amount of veggies.  Layer on the chicken and remaining cheese. Next, fold the tortilla in half to cover the filling and firmly press down.  The cook time shouldn’t be more than 5 min. since you’re basically warming the ingredients.  It’s done when the tortilla is browned and crispy.

Cut and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “veggie quesadilla

  1. Great idea! I never pre-cook my vegetables for quesadilla (except for beans) so it really limits the vegetables that I use for quesadilla to avocado, tomato, onion etc. I like the idea of trying other vegetables though, even leftover roast vegetables could be nice. I’m loving the rainbow chard, we’re currently growing some but they’re not growing very big. That’s fine though as they are delicious when they are small too.

  2. How many quesadillas did all of those veggies make? When I saw the picture I wondered, what is this vegetable that looks like grilled chicken?

    • Um, I can’t say for sure. I made a couple quesadillas, mixed a cup with quinoa, and still have 2 cups left. I used about 1/3 cup in my quesadillas…so I would say that amount would make around 10-12. Haha…grilled chicken veggie :).

Leave a Reply

