cornflake cookies

20130430-090925.jpg

Do you like cornflakes? I don’t regularly eat cornflakes but I thought incorporating them into a cookie would be good.  Cornflakes are neat in that they can be used in a sweet and  savory applications.  I couldn’t get the flavor of ‘cereal & milk’ out of my head so I wanted to make these cornflake cookies with the intentions of making ice cream sandwiches.

20130430-091133.jpg

I ground up cornflakes in my magic bullet to incorporate into the batter.  I also rolled the cookie dough balls in cornflakes before baking to add some crunch.  Other than that, it’s a pretty simple recipe.

20130430-091112.jpg

Wet ingredients on the left and dry ingredients on the right.  The first time I made this recipe I mixed in whole cornflakes into the batter and they became soggy in the batter.  I don’t know why I thought that was a good idea but you live and learn right?
20130430-091049.jpg

This batter was so good.  I’m not a big cookie dough eater but I couldn’t stop ‘tasting’ this. I want to experiment with making a cookie with out of corn chips…it’ll be sweet and salty.  What do you think?

20130430-091026.jpg

So I have two different types of baking sheets.  The one pictured above is the lighter baking sheet and then I have a darker one. I used both and the cookies came out differently.  I knew that different baking sheets would yield different results but I just thought the darker baking sheet would just bake the cookie faster.  It turns out the cookies on the lighter baking sheet spread more and  barely browned.  The cookies on the darker baking sheet barely spread and kept their shape and browned really quickly on the bottom. I typically just use the lighter baking sheet for cookies and now I remember why :).

cornflake

Remember the ‘cereals & milk’ idea?  Here we go…ice cream counts as milk right?  I think so.

20130430-090905.jpg

Yeah, ice cream definitely counts as milk right now.  If I had sprinkles I would roll the edges in them for fun :).  Also, I liked the crunchy cornflakes on top. I just got the idea of making this into a cookie bar with maybe some salted caramel…yum.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Cornflake cookies

original recipe by heapingtablespoon

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup ground cornflakes (which is about 3 1/2 cups of whole cornflakes)

1 cup whole cornflakes for topping

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup butter, softened

3/4 sugar

3/4 brown sugar, packed

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, ground cornflakes, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugars together.  Add vanilla.  Next, add the eggs one at a time and mix until incorporated.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in two portions.

Spoon heaping tablespoons of dough and roll into the cornflakes.  Place dough balls on a baking sheet at least two inches apart.  Bake for 11-13 min.  Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet if more browning in desired.

Make ice cream sandwiches with vanilla ice cream if desired!

2 thoughts on “cornflake cookies

Leave a Reply

