chorizo breakfast nachos

nachos photo

Every now and then nachos just sound good so here is my version of breakfast nachos.  I can imagine myself making a huge cookie sheet of these for a movie night with some friends.  Yeah, I said breakfast nachos but they can be eaten any time.  An egg on top means it can pass as a meal. That’s what I think at least.

20130427-081529.jpg

Above are all the ingredients you need.  I didn’t list the amount of ingredients you need since nachos are a personal thing.  You can choose what you like and how much.  I used blue corn tortilla chips not because they taste any better then regular ones but because I thought they would look prettier with the red chorizo, yellow egg yolk and green avocado. I cooked the chorizo, bacon, and eggs in advance. For some tang, I added a splash of vinegar to the chorizo. I also chopped the vegetables and grated the cheese in advance to make the nacho building process easier.

image

First, spread out your chips on the baking sheet. I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper for easier clean up. Next, crumble the chorizo and sprinkle the cheese on top.  Don’t worry I put way more cheese than what you see in the photo. Now pop it in a preheated 400 degree F oven for a few minutes until the cheese melts.

20130427-081928.jpg

We are lookin’ good people! Add the eggs on top.  I guess you could add this on top before you put the nachos in the oven to warm the egg too.  Do what makes sense to you. As you can tell I need help with my egg making skills for sunny side eggs.  I got the job done but could totally use a tutorial.

20130427-082002.jpg

Now for the toppings!  I was so excited about this part since toppings are one of the best parts about nachos.  I really liked the avocado with everything.  How about a close up?
20130427-082035.jpg

There it is…the yummy  bits of bacon may seem like pork over kill but I thought it was grreat!  Nachos are a guilty pleasure for me so I wasn’t about to hold back. A squeeze of lime for the finishing touch and you’re ready to chow down! Enjoy!

Chorizo breakfast nachos

recipe inspired by Joy the Baker

Ingredients

blue corn tortilla chips

eggs, sunny side up

bacon,chopped

chorizo (I used pork)

white cheddar cheese, grated

tomato, chopped

cilantro, chopped

onion, chopped

lime

avocado, cubed

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Prepare a baking sheet by lining it with parchment paper.

In a medium pan, cook the chorizo until most of the liquid has been cooked out. Set aside to cool.  In a separate small nonstick pan, cook the chopped bacon.  Once cooked, you can place the bacon on a plate lined with a paper towel to soak up the grease.  Next, I used the same pan for the bacon to cook the eggs sunny side up.

Chop the following ingredients separately: tomato, onion, cilantro. Mix the tomatoes, cilantro and onions together.  Add salt and lime to taste to make pico de gallo. Cube the avocado and grate the cheese.

To assemble the nachos, place the desired amount of chips on the prepared baking sheet. Crumble the chorizo on top then sprinkle the grated cheese.  Place the sunny side eggs on top. Next, put the nachos in the preheated oven for a few minutes until the cheese is melted and eggs are warmed.  Take out of oven.

Next, top the nachos with the pico de gallo, avocado and bacon.  Squeeze with lime if desired. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “chorizo breakfast nachos

Leave a Reply

