strawberry cream scones

DSCN3980

There is an abundance of strawberries on sale at the grocery store.  I know they aren’t in season yet so they aren’t super sweet but $3 for a big carton of strawberries?  Why not?  I needed to prepare a snack for friends so I decided to just slice some up, add a few tablespoons of sugar, let it marinate and serve it with ice cream.  Make sure to serve the strawberries room temperature because they taste better that way. Simple and easy (and gluten free).  If there is anything I have learned from cooking for other people it’s that most people LOVE fruit.

DSCN3967

Because of the abudance of strawberries in the house some were about to go bad and I wanted to use them so I thought scones would be good.  I love scones.  I prefer scones to be sweeter so I use more sugar than other recipes.

DSCN3968

Like I said the strawberries weren’t that sweet so I would recommend marinating them for at least 30min with a few tablespoons of sugar before incorporating them into the dough. Just add the fruit not the syrup that forms at the bottom. I didn’t have time to marinate so I just made them anyways.

When you mix the dough together I think it’s best to pour the cream into a large bowl first.  Then add the dry ingredients and strawberries. This way it will be easier to incorporate and you won’t be afraid of over mixing the dough.  My dough was a little crumbly so I used more cream.  Once the dough comes together pour it out on a clean work surface and divide it into two 6″ discs.

DSCN3973

Next cut them into 6 equal parts.  I love cutting them into pie shapes. Now they’re ready for the freezer. What?!  When you pop them in the freezer for 15min before you bake them it’ll help the scones rise.

DSCN3975

DSCN3976

Brush with cream and they’re ready for the oven. The cream helps brown the tops and creates the slightest glossy coating.  You could also top them with turbinado sugar but I didn’t have any.

DSCN3978

This baked good gave off the most amazing strawberries and cream aroma.  Next I want to try peaches and blueberries….well I’ll probably make it with anything I can get my hands on.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Strawberry cream scones

adapted recipe from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients

3 cups of all purpose flour

1 tablespoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 granulated sugar plus 3 tbsp for strawberries

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups of heavy whipping cream plus more for topping

2 cups of strawberries (hulled and cut into quarters)

turbinado sugar (optional)

Directions

Combine the strawberries and 3 tbsp of sugar and let it marinate for approximately 30 min.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Prepare a baking sheet by lining it with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl combine the dry ingredients flour, baking powder and salt. Then add the strawberries.  I would just add the fruit and not the juice.

In a large bowl add the cream and vanilla.  Then add the dry ingredients and strawberries. Mix until combined.  Be careful not to overmix the dough.  If it’s still crumbly you can add more cream.

Once the dough is combined pour it out onto a clean working surface and divide it into two 6″ discs.  Cut each disc into 6 pieces and spread them out 1″ apart.  Place the pan of scones in the freeze for 15min.

Take the scones out of the oven and brush with more cream and sprinkle with turbinado sugar (optional).  Bake for 15min until the scones begin to brown on the edges.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “strawberry cream scones

  1. It’s coming up to winter here in New Zealand and after a very poor season for strawberries last summer, I’m jealous of your lovely scones. Cute triangle shape, they remind of the tea sandwiches that you invite the ladies around for afternoon tea.

Leave a Reply

