brown butter roasted banana bread

DSCN3921

Some things just remind me of my dad including banana bread.  There were two things my sisters and I used to make with him: meatloaf (I loved mixing all the ingredients with my hands) and banana bread.  Every now and then we would have a big bunch of bananas that were going bad so we would make lots of loaves.  I thought it was so cool that you could mash up bad bananas and use them for something else :).

One of my friends recently made banana bread and it brought me back to my childhood.  I love how food connects you to memories.  Her bread was so good I couldn’t get it out of my brain so I decided to make some. I chose this recipe because brown butter and roasted bananas sounded goooood.  Also, it used whole wheat flour and I’m always looks for way to get some nutrition…well at least a little nutrition.

DSCN3862

There is a bear in my brown sugar!  Isn’t he cute?   One of my sisters gave me this as a gift after I told her my brown sugar was always super hard.  You just soak it in water and keep it in your brown sugar jar.  The recipe also requires sour cream which helps keep the bread super moist.

DSCN3865

To roast the bananas, place them on a baking sheet and roast them for 20 min at 350 degrees F. They release a little juice after  roasting.

DSCN3883

Brown butter above….yummy.  I don’t think I realized how much brown butter really does add a rich and nutty flavor until I made this recipe. I also feel grown up when I brown butter.  I guess it’s because I’m used to using butter cold or room temperature? Brown butter just seems sophisticated.

DSCN3891

I mashed up the bananas but kept them chunkylious.

DSCN3904

The smell of this baking was wonderful!  I could hardly wait to get this in my mouth!  I forced myself wait the 10 min to let it cool before I sliced it.  My slice went well with a glass of milk. Amazingly moist!  I will definitely be making this again soon.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Brown butter roasted banana bread

recipe slightly adapted from guiltykitchen

Ingredients

3 medium bananas

1/2 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar, packed

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup cake flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp heavy cream (optional)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil and place bananas (with peels on) on to roast.  Roast for 20 min.  There will be juice coming out of the banana when they are done. Set aside.

In a small sauce pan, heat the butter on medium heat. Do no stir the butter but swirl it.  Continue to cook the butter until it reaches a deep brown color.  Set a side to cool for a few minutes.

In a medium bowl combine sugar, salt and brown butter and mix until incorporated.  Next add sour cream and vanilla.

Mash up the bananas and add to wet ingredients. I wanted mine chunky so I just added the whole bananas to the wet ingredients and mashed them up in the same bowl.  I didn’t want to clean another bowl.

Combine the remaining dry ingredients, flours, cinnamon and baking soda, together.  Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in two parts.  Mix only until incorporated.  Do not overmix otherwise the bread will be tough.

Side note: I actually let the butter and bananas cool completely because I got distracted….life happens.  Also, I left the bananas chunky so my batter wasn’t as fluid which made it hard to incorporate the ingredients.  To remedy this I added some heavy cream to the wet ingredients then combined them with the dry ingredients.

Prepare an 8 x4  inch loaf pan. Coat the pan with butter.  Lightly coat the pan with flour by pouring a few tablespoons of flour in the greased pan, swirl it around to coat all sides with flour.  Discard remaining flour.  Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for 350 degrees F for 45min to 1hr.  It’s done with you insert a toothpick in the middle of the bread and it comes out clean.

Let it cool for 10 min on a cooling rack before slicing.

Another side note:  I actually used a 9 x 5 inch loaf so the bread was short and thick.  I think I will use my 8 x 4 pan next time to get a square shape slice instead of rectangular.

5 thoughts on “brown butter roasted banana bread

  1. Heya! Looks yummy! 2 questions: Can I use bananas out of the freezer? Or do they have to be fresh?
    Does using cake flour really matter? Don’t think I have any of that. I have self rising flour, white whole wheat flour, white bread flour, and regular. Will any of these work?

    • Hey Laura,

      I think you could use frozen bananas. I would defrost them first though and drain any liquid that comes out. You just want the banana mush :). Cake flour produces a more tender cake becase it has the lowest amount of protein. You don’t have to use it but the consistency of your banana bread will be different. You can also make your own cake flour. Of the flours you listed I would use the white whole wheat flour and the all purpose flour (this is regular right?). I would not use the self rising flour since it already has some sort of leavening in it. Love all the questions :).

      http://joythebaker.com/2009/09/how-to-make-cake-flour/

      • To clarify, for frozen bananas you could try defrosting them and then roasting them or you can just skip the roasting all together. On second thought, you could see what happens if you try to roast a frozen banana…this has piqued my interest and I might try this myself. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

