almond cloud cookie

DSCN3305

Almond cloud cookie. Doesn’t that sound delicious? Well, it is.  A couple reasons why this recipe is awesome: it only has six ingredients and it’s gluten free!  I have to say it’s one of the most flavorful cookies I’ve made.

s
DSCN3241

Two ingredients you may have to get are the almond extract and almond paste.  I love adding almond extract into cookies, cakes or really any dessert.  I used Cook’s which is a gluten free extract. Almond paste can be found in the baking aisle of your grocery store.  Mine was in an 8 oz can for about $6.

So here’s the deal about almond paste.  The original recipe comes from King Arthur Flour.  I really like their recipes and tips, however, the almond cloud cookie requires a 10 oz can.  Apparently you can get a 10 oz can, 8 oz can or a 7 oz tube.  It just depends what your grocery store carries.  My Fred Meyer had an 8 oz can so I was not about to go to another store to hunt down a 10 oz can.  Does the 2 oz really make a difference?  After reading the recipe reviews I think it does.  So I altered the recipe slightly to make it accessible to those of us with 8 oz without using weird measurements.

The frothy pale yellow ingredient at the bottom is a beaten extra large egg white.  Beating it breaks up the egg white which allows you to slowly incorporate it instead of just adding it all at once.  You really need to follow this step in order to get the right texture.  My dough was crumbly at first but it eventually came together after I added the last bit of egg white.  See how the dough looks below.

DSCN3260

I mixed the almond paste by itself in my stand mixer to break it up before adding the sugar and egg.  I noticed it was really stiff so I thought this would help as I incorporated the other ingredients.

s
DSCN3267

Powdered sugar snow storm.  Lovely.

s
DSCN3274

Aren’t they cute?  Three indentations in the cookie dough and they are ready to bake.  These are so good straight from the oven.

s
DSCN3318

I was planning to take the cookies to work since I know someone that is gluten free but my husband wanted  me to leave them at home.  I guess this is a really good recipe because he doesn’t do that very often.

I love the way the powdered sugar melts in you mouth when you bite into it.  The outside is crisp with a chewy inside.  Almond all the way.

p.s. we enjoy them best after microwaving them for ten seconds

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Almond cloud cookie

makes 18-22 cookies

Ingredients

8 oz  almond paste

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 extra large egg white, beaten

1/4 teaspoon of almond extract

powdered sugar for topping

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F

In a stand mixer, mix the almond paste by itself to break it up.  On medium speed, add sugar and salt until completely incorporated. The mixture may still be crumbly.  Add egg white in slowly until completely incorporated. The mixture should be smooth and look like dough.  Add almond extract.

Spoon heaping tablespoons of dough onto a prepared baking sheet (baking sheet with parchment paper on top or greased baking sheet).  Sprinkle  a generous amount of powdered sugar over each cookie.  Press three fingers into each cookie to create the indentations.

Bake for 12-15min until browned on the edges.  I think I over cooked mine just a little at 15min but they were still really good!

2 thoughts on “almond cloud cookie

Leave a Reply

