orange citrus glaze

DSCN3151

Citrus is such a cool ingredient because you can use the juice inside and the zest outside. It’s so economical. So I was looking for a recipe to use with some cookie dough I had in my freezer. Remember those  simple shortbread cookies I made last month?  I baked half the dough and froze the rest for later.  It’s about time I used it for something and I found just the thing.

DSCN3155

I took the dough out of the freezer the night before to let it thaw. I love frozen cookie dough as evidenced by this post.

j
DSCN3163

DSCN3167

I rolled out the dough to about 1/4 inch thick and used a cookie cutter to make small medallions.  It made about 60 small cookies.  I didn’t bake them as long as the  original shortbread recipe in order to make them softer. I took them out of the oven a little undercooked since they continued to bake as they cooled. They tasted like a butter cookie. Since the cookies were small, it was so easy for me to pop one in my mouth here and there.  They were really good with and without the glaze.  The glaze will eventually harden on the outside but still be a little soft once you break into it.  You can also make them a day before and keep them in a air tight container which is what I did.  I think the citrus flavor was more pronounced the second day.

DSCN3130

If I could make one sugestion, I would NOT use blood oranges.  Any other citrus would probably work.  I say this because I tried using blood oranges and it made this bright pink icing which looked a little too fake even though it wasn’t.  I think making a pink icing would be good for a doughnut or cupcake but I didn’t think it would be the best for this delicate cookie.

I can see myself making a lemon citrus glaze and putting it on top of a pound cake, muffin, scone, homemade poptart (future post to come) or really any type of pastry.

DSCN3171

DSCN3172

The cookies are sitting on a homemade dessert tower that my friend Jenny help me make.  She actually made an awesome tutorial for this.  Check it out here!
DSCN3193

This orange citrus glaze is so simple yet it can transform a cookie into something really special.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Orange citrus glaze

recipe from Real Simple 

Ingredients

1 cup of powdered sugar

2 tbsp orange juice

1 tsp orange zest

Directions

Mix all ingredients together until it reaches a smooth consistency.  Do not let it sit out for too long or the top layer will harden and begin to form a crust.  To glaze the cookies, you can either dip them in to the glaze or apply a small amount use small knife to spread over the cookie.  Try this glaze on other baked goods like brownies, cinnamon rolls or cakes.  Experiment and  enjoy!

Leave a Reply

