no knead white bread

DSCN2934

Fun fact about me: I often bake bread and do laundry at the same time.  It’s actually works well because you need something to do while you wait for the dough to rise and the temperature in the laundry room is exactly what I need.  My home is typically cool, which makes it hard for the dough to rise, so I let the dough rest in the laundry room (on top of of the dryer).  If I’m not doing laundry I turn the oven on to about 250 degrees and set the dough (in a bowl/pan) on the the back right burner.  On my oven the back right burner is where the majority of the heat is released.

So a simple no knead recipe for white bread for you today.  This is my favorite white bread recipe because the top is lumpy.  For some reason I don’t like the perfectly round top on bread whether it’s store bought or home made. It’s so good I think everyone needs to try freshly home made white bread at least once in their lives.  When I made this for the first time it seriously changed my opinion about the pre-sliced store bought bread.  Fresh white bread straight from the oven is…the essence of homebaking.  It’s a meal on it’s own and when plain white bread can be a meal on it’s own you know that’s good bread….feel me?  You will after you make this.

One of my favorite things to do is make white bread and give it away as a ‘just because’ gift.  It’s such a practical and tasty gift. Unless they have an allergy, I’m sure they would appreciate it. Be sure to deliver it quickly since fresh white bread will only last  for a few days.

DSCN2876

I instead of water I used something special… whey from the cheese I made earlier this week.  Whey, when added to breads, adds more flavor and it just feels good to not waste it by pouring it down the drain.

DSCN2885

My lovely bright green kitchen aid <3.  I use this at least a few times a week.  Before my husband bought this for me as a gift,  I seriously used a whisk  and A LOT of elbow grease.

DSCN2891

Be sure you have enough time to make this.  It doesn’t require a lot of  active preparation but it does take time for the dough to rise.  It will need to rest at least twice.  Also, make sure to have good yeast otherwise your dough may not rise like it should.

DSCN2899

The second rise.

DSCN2931

I cut thick slices because it’s better like that. My favorite jam is spread on top.  It’s marion blackberry jam.

Oh geez, I just can’t get over how good this is.

DSCN2936

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

No knead white bread

adapted recipe by Red Star Yeast

Ingredients 

3 ½ cups of all-purpose flour

3 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp of salt

1 packet of instant rise yeast

1 ½ cups of warm water or whey

¼ cups vegetable oil

 Directions

Mix 1.5 cups of the flour, sugar, salt and yeast together in a large mixing bowl.  Add water and oil to flour mixture and mix for 3 min.  Next, add the remaining flour and incorporate by hand until combined.  Let it rest in the bowl, covered, for 23-30 minutes until it doubles.  Transfer to greased 8 x 5 loaf pan, cover it and let it rise for another 20-30min or until the dough reaches the top of the pan.  (I let mine rise for 45min but it still didn’t reach the edge of the pan.  My home is cool and it took the dough longer than normal to rise).  Preheat oven to 350degrees F.  Bake for 35-40min.  The top should be a golden brown.  Slice and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “no knead white bread

    • Yeah I should explain that more. I meant to say not expired yeast. For this recipe, I used instant yeast that I bought from Fred Meyers. You can find it in the baking section near the flour and such. I buy the packets because I don’t use yeast enough to buy an entire jar. Also, there is a difference between instant and regular yeast. Instant is supposed to make your dough rise faster. Some don’t like it but I think it works well for this bread.

Leave a Reply

