chocolate chip cookie tip

DSCN3018

This isn’t so much a recipe as it is a wonderful tip I learned a couple years ago.  It’s so much more convenient than having a tub of frozen cookie dough in the freezer.

I love having these in the freezer for when I really want a cookie but don’t want to make several dozen.  I find myself wanting a larger freezer just so I can prep more food, freeze it, and use it for later.  I’ve done this with biscuit dough, cookie dough, stocks and etc.  The freezer is a wonderful invention.

DSCN2981

I don’t have a secret special chocolate chip cookie recipe and I’m sure everyone has at least one recipe they like.  I typically buy the bittersweet ghirardelli chocolate chips and use the cookie recipe on the back.  I prefer bittersweet/dark chocolate whether it’s in a cookie or plain.  I’m talking like 85% cocoa.  It’s actually pretty bitter but I’ve learned to like it and having a piece a day is healthy :).   I’m using bittersweet chocolate bars from Trader Joe’s today because that’s what I had in the pantry so this is more like a chocolate chunk cookie.

DSCN2983

DSCN2997

Fun fact about me and chocolate chip cookies,  when I’m spooning the batter on the baking sheet I try to make at least one cookie WITHOUT any chocolate chips in it.  I just like the taste of it.  Every time I make a batch I think about leaving out the chips.  If I made this cookie what would I call it?

Another  fun fact, I prefer a salty chocolate chip cookie.  Once I had a chocolate chip cookie with salt sprinkled on top.  It was amazing.

DSCN3007

Chocolate chips cookies are so homey.

Is anyone familiar with Frontier Airlines? Did you know that they give you a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie for your snack instead of peanuts or trail mix.  When I found this out I was really excited.  One of the flight attendants gave someone in front of me two cookies because they were stuck together. I secrectly hoped I would get two…I did not.

Also, did you know that Double Tree gives out a chocolate chip cookie (with nuts…nuts are alright I like them without) when you check in?  I’ve only stayed there once but I couldn’t stop talking about getting a yummy fresh cookie at check in.  I’m telling you if you want to make a friend, welcome someone home, or just want to do something special make chocolate chip cookies.  I think it will work. If you try it will you tell me about it?

DSCN3006

I saved some of the dough to make a ‘cookie monster.’ If you’ve ever gone to Cheddar’s Restaurant.  They bake a huge chocolate chip cookie and top it with ice cream.  I used to love getting this but they don’t have Cheddar’s in the northwest.  So I made one using my mini cast iron skillet and it was really good!  A big chocolate chip cookie right out of the oven and vanilla ice cream are ALWAYS good.

DSCN3020

Above are the frozen dough balls.  They only took about 3omin. to set.  I like to keep them in a cheap plastic tuperware to store in the freezer.  These are great to have on hand for a snack, a quick dessert for company and are ready to bake a quick batch to take with you to a gathering.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Chocolate Chip Cookies
slightly adapted from Ghirardelli 
11 ounces or 1 bag of chocolate chips or bittersweet chocolate
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
Mix the dry ingredients together in bowl and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until smooth. Add one egg at a time and mixed until fully incorporated. Be sure to scrape the edges as needed. Add vanilla.  Add dry ingredients in three parts and mix until fully incorporated each time.  Use a spatula to mix in chocolate chips.
Use a cookie scoop (or two spoons) to form dough balls and  place them on a baking sheet (be sure it fits in the freezer).  I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper for easy clean up.  Place the baking sheet in the freezer for 30 min or until the dough is set.  Once the dough is frozen, store them in an airtight container.
You can bake the frozen dough balls straight from the freezer.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 8-10min.
Leave a Reply

