red velvet whoopie pie

DSCN2818

Some people think Valentine’s Day is just a ploy to get you to buy something but I’ve always enjoyed making everything homemade.   From dinner to cookies or cards, I like having a day to remind me to be more thoughtful of others. I find that when you make Valentine’s Day about yourself it’s usually disappointing in the end so I encourage you to make someone else’s day special.

DSCN2663

…homemade valentine…red and pink go together only one day out of the year

Anyways, sticking with the theme of red this week, I made red velvet whoopie pies.

DSCN2766

DSCN2768

What’s that small jug? It’s vanilla extract my sister bought me when she lived in Mexico.  She knows me so well that I would appreciate and use a jug of vanilla extract…it means so much to me.

DSCN2777

If you don’t know already, red velvet is basically a chocolate cake with red food coloring.  Supposedly, in the olden days people used beet juice as the coloring.

DSCN2778

I added a teaspoon of white vinegar to the batter.  The vinegar when mixed with the baking soda will react and cause the cake to rise.   The buttermilk will create the same reaction.  Others add white vinegar to add more tartness.  My point is people add vinegar for various reasons. In the end you don’t taste the vinegar at all and the cake isn’t that tart.  I prefer a tarter cake and will try to use a mixture of buttermilk and sour cream next time.

DSCN2786

DSCN2790

DSCN2796

DSCN2801

If you are health conscious, you probably don’t want to know what is in the filing.  I think dessert should be decadent. I’m just not into ‘healthy desserts.’  I don’t think they’re worth it.  A little salad here and dessert there…it’s about balance.

DSCN2803

DSCN2807

DSCN2828

So many photo ops with these mini pies.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

adapted recipe from Better Homes and Gardens

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder

½ teaspoons baking soda

¼ salt

½ cup butter, softened

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 teaspoon of vinegar

1 cup of buttermilk

2 tablespoon of red food coloring

Filling

¼ cup butter, softened

8oz of cream cheese, softened

7oz jar of marshmallow cream

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Cream butter and sugar together.  Add egg and vanilla extract.

Add vinegar to buttermilk.  Alternately, add dry ingredients and buttermilk mixture.  Make sure to scrape the side and bottom of the bowl.  Stir in red food coloring.

Spoon batter in 1-1.5inch rounds on baking sheet.  I used a 1.5 inch cookie scoop.  This made approximately 20 pies.

Bake for 7-9min depending on the size of the rounds.  Check with a toothpick and insert into middle of the round.  If it comes out clean it’s done.

Take rounds off of baking sheet to cool before filling .

Filling

Mix butter, cream cheese and marshmallow cream together until combined well.  To make it easier start by mixing the cream cheese and butter together then add the marshmallow cream.

Use a cookie scoop or spoon to fill the pies.  For a cleaner look, you can use a pastry bag to pipe the icing into the pie.

2 thoughts on “red velvet whoopie pie

  1. This was soooo yummy! In an attempt to be good I offered to share mine with Isabelle. After I tasted it, though, I wished I hadn’t! I tried to kind of hide that I was eating it but she remembered my earlier promise 😦 I only got half. Half the calories, yes, but also only half the yumminess. Thanks for the treat! Now, perhaps I will attempt making them myself 🙂

    • aww, thanks Laura. I love that you actually comment on this thing :). Next time I’ll be sure to give you two treats one for you and one for Isabelle (but don’t worry I won’t bombard you with desserts otherwise they wouldn’t be treats!).

Leave a Reply

